The Story Behind the Photo:

Perhaps you’ve seen it on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, or even for sale on Instacanvas… but where in this gorgeous city of Paris was this photo taken?

Image

For those of you who know me from my close to 12,000 tweets (Yes, I can indeed be a chatterbox; thus the new blog), you might already know that one of the things I truly hate to do is to go shopping. When I say shopping, I am referring to any kind of shopping whatsoever.

I know this is Paris and it’s perhaps even a criminal offense not to enjoy shopping, but that’s just how it is.  I’m the kind of gal who you literally have to drag out to buy my own clothing in order to replace my ripped jeans.  If I’m lucky, I’ll give the store a very quick once around & head to the fitting room, where I’ll usually wait while either my Mom or even my sweet French man run around picking things out for me to try on.  I know that this all sounds rather pathetic, but on the plus side I’m saving money, right?

That said, when this very same dear sweet French man told me he had a surprise outing for me, I was thrilled at the idea of what we would be doing whilst our two little ones were at school.  I mean, this is Paris and it was raining, but even walking down the beautiful streets in the rain puts a smile on my face!

A date, big or small, while the kiddies are at school is something we always try to treat ourselves to from time to time.  However, when we arrived in front of the large shopping store, Printemps, I cringed, secretly praying, please keep walking… please keep walking. He looked at me with a huge smile and said, “We’re here!”

I looked at his adorable face, filled with excitement, and smiled as I tried to act happy to be here. The truth is, Printemps really is a great department store, and he was just so happy. How on earth could I burst his little bubble? I told myself how lucky I was to even have a man who would even want to go shopping with me, shut my mouth, and took everything in stride with a smile.

We went into the store, climbed one escalator after another.  While heading toward an elevator he said, “It’s best if we start at the top and work our way down.”  That made sense to me, and well, he really was being very cute about everything.  It’s not like I was getting teeth pulled or anything, so even I started getting caught up in his excitement.

When we got to the top floor, I couldn’t believe my eyes.  For those of you who know Printemps, you’ve probably already figured out where he was bringing me.  For those who don’t know, there is a huge circular traditional brasserie located at the top, with an enormous dome-like stained glass ceiling that dates to 1923.  Truly a sight to be seen!  The colorful interior was modernized by designer Didier Gomez.

The last thing I was expecting was to find a restaurant at the top of Printemps. Not only does that man of mine really know me, but he apparently has a great sense of humor –  lunch, gorgeous view, and a little surprise was what he had in mind… not shopping.  He got me!

Printemps: A place worth checking out when in Paris, and not just for the shopping.

Image

Yes, that’s me… admiring the view at Brasserie Printemps.

64, boulevard Haussmann – Paris 9 ème

Photo/Editing/Text Credits: Bellanda ®

14 thoughts on “The Story Behind the Photo:

    • Thank you, Steve! You make me feel better about putting my photo up. 😉 As for that man of mine… he is indeed a really great guy. I’m lucky. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment. So very sweet of you!

    • Thank you, Libby. I am indeed lucky, and it was a fun little afternoon surprise. Thank you for writing, Libby. I’m thrilled you are here with me as I muddle through the blogging world. 🙂

  1. Quite a few of my friends dislike shopping (not me!) but I think I could persuade them in Paris! Even though I spend ages on every floor in Printemps I do eventually get to the top and that ceiling – beautiful. Great pic of you too! 🙂

  2. Thank you so much, Karen! Yes, I admit that I am not exactly ‘normal’ when it comes to shopping… even in Paris. Hehehe 🙂 Thank you for your comments. Such a pleasure to see you here!

    • LOL Perry! Yes, I admit it… Hate shopping – Just think of all the time I save NOT shopping, so that I can do all of the things I love to do. 🙂 As for my one & only niece, she doesn’t plan on dating till she finishes med school (smart girl in my opinion LOL). So, you might need to wait a while, as she still needs to start! 😉

  3. I love to shop, however I might be encouraged to check out the top floor. Thanks for giving me a new place to visit on my next trip to Paris. Can’t wait for your next blog, I find your writing easy, funny and informative. Keep up the good work.

If you would like to leave a public comment or question below, I'd love to hear from you. Best wishes!

